Something I liked

🍿 Rebel Moon - Part One: A Child of Fire (2023)

Rebel Moon - Part One: A Child of Fire poster

‘Rebel Moon’ is “cinematic poetry.”

Armond White (Snyder’s super fan and film critic)

I had been waiting for this movie to come out for a while and all I knew about it was that it was a Netflix film directed by Zack Snyder. The film finally came out and I didn’t get a chance to watch it right away. Unfortunately, the internet makes noise and it was getting poor reviews which makes me even more curious.

According to the Wikipedias this film was inspired by the works of Akira Kurosawa, and the Star Wars film. I can definitely see the Star Wars films inspiration here but that’s not what I’m here for, those things are overrated. The AKIRA KUROSAWA part, now we’re talking. And when I learned this fact about the KUROSAWA-inspired work it all made sense then.

This movie is basically 🍿 Seven Samurai (1954) but in a sci-fi world. This makes me think more of the anime TV show Samurai 7 (2004), it’s that show but in a very different setting.

I enjoyed the heck out of this movie but I am a Snyder fan, thus, I might be a little biased. It is not a perfect movie because there aren’t perfect movies, I mean, art is subjective. Ain’t it? I do agree with this Armand guy, it is cinematic poetry.

Gabz @Gabz