A game I have been playing

Last night I finished a game that like many indie games I buy, I usually play for a little bit until I get distracted with something else. I know, this sucks and I need to be better a this.

Gunbrella

Developer: doinksoft

Publisher: Devolver Digital

Released: Sep 13, 2023

Uncover the dark secrets of a gritty, tangled metropolis and battle diabolic villains with your trusty Gunbrella, a bulletproof brolly that doubles as a firearm.

This game I would describe it as a 2D shot ‘em up platformer with some Metroidvania, and rogue-lite elements. And there’s lots of blood. At the end of the day, it is a very entertaining indie action game.

The premise of the story itself is both straightforward and a little cruel. His [the protagonist] home has been set ablaze, his wife was murdered, and the killer kidnapped his newborn child. What was uncovered after that, is pretty wild, the story is pretty appealing with a lot of what-fucks?

I love the pixel art, of course, this is probably the main reason I buy these games. The art, the noir-like aesthetic of it, makes this game worth checking out.

The gameplay in general is pretty linear, not a lot of exploration or Metroidvanianess in the sense that you may need a thing to access another area and such. Well, there is but it’s usually a password from someone or a key. The game isn’t that long either. It took me, what? Three days to finish it.

About six hours?

The game has three different difficulties you can play as, obviously I played on easy. Boss fights weren’t too challenging at first, they get a little more challenging as you progress. More in the sense that you may die on your first try and then by the second you’ve figured out the patterns making things easier.

I’m so glad I picked it up and stuck with it, it was really fun to play in between playing bigger titles like Assassin’s Creed Mirage which I’m currently playing too.

Gabz @Gabz