Kagi?

Alright, by now almost everyone should be aware of the new kid in the block, well, apparently, it isn’t that new. I am talking about Kagi Search, the privacy-oriented search engine service.

Kagi is a high quality, 100% privacy-respecting search engine with results augmented by non-commercial indexes and personalized searches.

Sounds cool, huh?

I will be honest, I don’t know how much I care. I mean, yes I should care about privacy and give the least amount of personal data to services like Google and others, but, at this point, how much does it really matter, I often wonder. But, that’s neither here nor there.

I signed up for it a couple of weeks ago. It was mentioned in a super-secret iMessage chat I hang out at. I reached my 100 search limit a few days ago, and yesterday I decided to give them my money and upgraded to the 300 searches tier.

So far I like it, I feel like the results I get are “true to type” as we say in my world. Not ads-generated results bullshit. I like their “Small Web” feature, it’s kinda like Stumble Upon, and it’s a cool way to explore and find other blogs. Oh! and the mascot, I like the cute doggie they have on their page.

I am sure there’s more to it than search, a cute-looking dog, and blog discovery, but that is it for now.

What makes it better than something like DuckDuckGo? Honestly, I don’t know, I rarely ever used it 😅. But as someone who tries to stay away from Google services as much as possible, I don’t even have a Gmail account, I guess is worth checking it out.

Gabz @Gabz