Buckets

I love my job like I truly do and I’m happy to do the things I do, no matter how overwhelming they might seem at times. Today we had a meeting, something about core competencies for each level. Technician, Analyst, I think then it’s Technical Expert and Manager level.

When looking at that slide and all the different buckets and their competencies within those buckets, I came to a realization. I have more buckets than what my current level is described as. My current position is, on paper, at a technical level, when in reality, I match all the Analyst’s buckets. I have been doing what would seem like a 60K job for 47K. These are made-up numbers but you get the idea.

In a way felt like a slap in the face that I wasn’t looking to get. But probably a necessary one. Why go above and beyond when I am getting the bare minimum? I don’t want to sound ungrateful or something but can’t help to be somewhat bothered by it.

Not sure what will happen from here, definitely will have a talk with my manager on our next 1-on-1 (which is tomorrow). And for sure, I don’t want to become a little bitter, or discouraged, and lower my standards in the work I do and the passion I have for it.

Gabz @Gabz