Why I ignore Photography, ish.

There is a reason why I have stopped reading about photography or listening to anybody writing or talking about photography on blogs, podcasts, or YouTube and et al.

Gear Acquisition Syndrome (G.A.S.)

It is definitely an obsession, and I guess it can be applied to many other areas, especially technology. It’s like we are never happy with what we have or we become distracted by other shiny things and then try to convince ourselves why the grass is greener on the other side.

Does it sound familiar?

Yesterday for example I was listening to ATP, and Marco was talking about cameras. I’ll be honest, I stopped the podcast and deleted it from the queue. Otherwise, I would have gone down a rabbit hole trying to justify why I needed one of those two cameras. Scheming a plan or plot to somehow sell my current gear to buy new gear, when, in theory, my current gear serves me well.

I would definitely like to “upgrade” my gear but it is something that, so far, might not be realistically attainable or plausible, or even necessary (or so I keep telling myself). For this reason, I rather ignore, hide my head in the ground or live under a rock, when it comes to this topic.

Ignore the FOMO and embrace the JOMO

Gabz @Gabz