This is not the way

Warning, sausy Gabz content. 

Reader discretion is advised...

We all have done it (or keep doing it), where we find this YouTube video (or Podcast radio show), "MY SUPER AWESOME PRODUCTIVE DISTRACTION FREE SETUP", and we watch it (them). Then we are like,

"OMG, this guy is a genius, I am a monster of a mess, and I must emulate this!"

STOP IT!

You know exactly what I am talking about. The super minimalistic, no distraction, almost nonexistent home screen setups where everything is hidden.  And then here I am spending about half an hour moving things around my home screen because according to this video (or PodShow).

But, apparently,  "This is the Way"

Larry Hryb 🇺🇦 on Twitter:

Making sacrifices and compromises, hiding away apps that I might have a legit use for, hiding widgets that I probably will forget about. Creating more friction for me to use my stuff than fixing a problem now I think I have.

But, 

"This is the way, Gabz."

Is it though?

No, it isn't! It is all majestic bullshit!

Maybe for some of these people yes, it is a thing and in their minds, it helps, but for me it is just majestic bullpoop. 

"But Gabz, the notifications, pings, and all the buzzes, all the distractions". 

Distractions Everywhere - Imgflip

Then, my friend, that sounds more like a personal problem. I know, I have struggled with the same problem and more and more I am convinced that is a personal problem. It is an addiction and we blame it on pings and buzzes. Just put down your phone, do some work, type a letter, grill something, or have sex. That is what I tell myself every day, at least.

I would say though if you want a clean setup because this "helps" with "distractions" go for it, by all means. I have seen many setups out there that are clean, and functional and not this romanticized fantasy I keep getting across with these days,

I would also say if you want to vomit every single app and plaster them all over your home screen (or home screens), go for it! Why not? Your phone, your decision!

Now, to be fair, it is not their fault, we are all suckers for setups and all they are doing is feeding the masses, me included. I guess I am just done with all of it and constantly making changes based on someone else's use case. This, is also, a personal problem 😜.

Now that I am done with my rant...

I think I will take this opportunity to think and re-evaluate my personal relationship and habits with my devices and what I want out of them and go from there. And if anything, I find more useful, videos or talks about the tools some other people use, than setups, since those can help me discover something I didn't know about and add some real value, and there are many people that do that, and they do it very well.

Just my unprofessional, not humble opinion.

Gabz @Gabz