Where I'm at with my To-dos

Recently I watched a Youtube video by Van Neistat called My To-Do List Philosophy

And my favorite quote;

To-do lists are for pussies  

That made me both chuckle and think.

To-do lists and To-do apps, give me anxiety, I have tried different apps and different systems over the years only to be dropped and forgotten about. That being said, I am the kind of individual that would greatly benefit from having a robust system. 

Why?

I am forgetful. I procrastinate. I am, sometimes lazy and unorganized. Having a system, in theory, should keep me sane, and help me keep my job in the process.

Here is where I'm at right now. I have been trying to build up a system based on functionality rather than what is the hot app of the moment. I believe this has always been my biggest mistake, trying to fit my necessities in a system or app simply because a YouTuber or Podcaster said it was the best (to them, in their defense). So I have been trying to use what causes less friction and anxiety.

For work, I have been using TickTick and in fact, 99% of its use is using the quick entry window by clicking Ctrl + Shift + A. I enter the task, assign time and date (many times not even a time), and done. I don't even open the app, whatever I need to get done will appear on a floating widget on my desktop. Although I have it installed on my phone, it is not even on my main screen, it's in a folder somewhere in case I may need to reference something. I have tried to use it for personal stuff but there's when things get a little angsty.

For Personal stuff, I have been trying to rely more on Reminders, simply because I can talk to my watch or Machintosh cellular device or even my HomePod (when it works) and add things that way. I still dabble with Things 3, it's nice looking but I find it a little cumbersome at times trying to add things or remember how to do things properly, but that's more on me I guess.

For now, this is my system, it is not perfect or super-organized but somewhat works. The most hectic part of my life is work and that's where I need a system the most, and for now,  TickTick is doing the thing.

That'd be all.

Cheers!

Gabz @Gabz