A Game I've been playing

Horizon Zero Dawn: Complete Edition

image.png

Yup, exploring the wilds again, 5 years later. This game was originally released on February 28, 2017, on the PlayStation 4. It is the year of our lord, 2022, and the game is still bitchin'.

This time around, though, I have been playing the Complete edition, on the PlayStation 5.

Why am I playing this, 5 years later? Well, the game is a masterpiece, in my book, but also Horizon Forbidden West is coming out soon, February 18th. Thus, just like some of us watch previous movies in preparation for the sequel that is about to come out, I am playing this game. Also, back in November of 2017, a DLC for Zero Dawn was released, The Frozen Wilds. I never got around to playing the DLC, so this was also a good incentive to re-play this game.

Not sure if it's the fact that it has been 5 years since, or the fact that I am playing it on the PlayStation 5. but the game feels both like it belongs to the ps5 and like a whole new experience from the one I had 5 years ago.

I am currently about 10 to 12 hours in, I have been doing a lot of grinding though, and having fun while doing it. Also, damn, I had forgotten how massive the world-map is in this game, so much so it can be super-overwhelming if you expand and look at it.

Also, I am playing it in the easiest mode available, which I am not sure this particular mode was in the original release, I could be wrong. This is making the playthrough much faster too, and some of the machines that were a nightmare before, well, they are still a nightmare when you look at them up close but not as much when fighting them (I am looking at you Thunderjaw).

It is interesting when you come back to an old goodie like this and even if you have forgotten some of the sorry, the control mechanics, and such, there are still things you remember dearly. Also, you remember your priorities, don't sell this material, get your fast-travel pack early, and so on.

If you haven't played this game, ever, do yourself a service and play it!

GO!

Gabz @Gabz