Gabz’s Log: No more snoozing

A thing I have been trying and failing for months, is to wake up early in the morning, at 5:00am and exercise. This has been going on for months. I have had my alarm set for 5 in the morning since October-November, and al these time I have been snoozing it.

Today, no more snoozing—ish.

I did snooze, one time. Instead of 5:00am, I was up by 5:18am. I got up, changed shorts, went to the living room. I wanted to try Fitness+ again. I have enjoyed (ish) before. I picked up a 20-minute HIT workout. Normally, I would mix and match, 20 min HIT, 10 core and then 5 on mindfulness cooldown.

Well, I either picked the not-so-right instructor or something. My problem with video-home workouts is when they are too cheery, it is a bit weird and awkward, to me.

I stopped the workout, I count it as a warmup, grabbed my kettlebell, switch the Apple TV to music videos and did my thing. A combination of kettlebell movements, core, and push-ups. Then did 5 minutes of mindfulness cooldown and called it good.

This is part of the new routine I want to create for myself. Whether is working out in my living room, go for a run, perhaps some morning yoga, who knows.

I am still trying to break the mold of needing to go to a gym. Going to a gym is all I’ve known, and it is hard to break that. I might go back to a gym at some point, but the way things have been pandemic-wise, I’m not sure if I am comfortable yet.

Gabz @Gabz