Subs Game

After reading Mike's post on subscriptions last night, and this morning's Greg's, I had to think about my situation here and share.

The Gotta have's

Netflix - Gotta have it, if you have family, especially kids, there's no way around it. Plus consider this, Netflix puts out so much content, and high quality, for "cheap".

Apple One - Given that both my wife and I do use Apple Music, iCloud storage and at the time we were also using Apple Arcade, I believe we were already at the 29.95 mark, so it made sense. Now we also get Fitness+, tv+, and News+ (which I rarely ever use).

Kiddopia - Another, gotta have it, if this app does not have all the mini-games available, there will be riots. And we don't want riots in a full restaurant.

comiXologyUNLIMITED - Think of Netflix for comics Books, this is one I forget I have, and one that as much as I really want to use it and take advantage of, I don't. I am going to put myself to the test this month, If I don't read at least three to four issues, I am canceling it.

Glass - Photography Community - I like the app, I have written my thoughts on it, and what it means to me. I have been in conflict with it in the past week or so. I see the app as a nice-looking website for my photos, but it is not my own, like my blog, it is mine (ish). So, this one is in review.

Audible - This one, I keep going back and forth in my mind, in fact, this one gets canceled and reactivated again sometimes. I think I have a decent backlog of books to listen to that I could possibly cancel it for a while.

AppleCare+ - My reasoning, I've got kids, and I am clumsy, thus, I need it. 

Overcast - As much as I hate its UI and icon, it's rock-solid and that's that.

Tweetbot 6 - My Twitter app of choice, and I want them to both keep around and give me more icons.

Day One - Day One was my blog before my blog. Before I dared to get a weblog, I was writing in this app, circa 2012. Now I rarely actively type in it, now I have an IFTTT action that everything I post to my weblog, gets an entry in DO. Also, I use a lot their Text to Journal feature, which allows me to text quick things and create quick entries. They are usually photos in my case. It is pretty neat.

Mullvad - I got this one when I traveled to Naples, FL last year, not sure I'll keep it.

Ulysses - another, gotta have it, it is my writing app of choice, and cannot imagine a world without it.

Micro.blog - The most important sub of them all. Here is where I host my weblog. Makes everything easy and friction-free. It has a great community and even though I have tried other platforms (tinkerers gotta tink), there's no place like home.

HBO Max - I do get a lot of entertainment out of this one, ze wife wants me to cancel it, I don't lol, we shall see.

Subscriptions I am letting go (or expire) this month/year.

Hey Mail - love it, love it, love it, too expensive.

Twitter Blue - not worth it, to me.

Carrot Weather - The stock weather app has gotten much better than it used to. I am letting it expire and see if I miss it.

Drafts - For the way I use it now, I can get by with the free tier. I may subscribe at some point again, though. Just to support its development.

Bear - This used to be my notes app of choice for years, not anymore. Lately, I have been using Simplenote.

VSCO - It is set to expire, but I use it, I love this app so much, so it will be renewed when the time comes, I believe it'll be September 2022.

One subscription I am sort of considering, and this is purely a work-related thing more than anything else, It's ROAM Research. I think I had expressed this idea of having a work journal, and I like ROAM for that. Still an idea.

Gabz @Gabz