Evaluation day

Today was it, I did what I came to do, Watermelon and melon field grow out. In other words, a field day!

Not going to lie, last time I visited this site to do the same was two years ago, 2019, when I had first started at my job. The evaluation was pretty much done by Ed and the lady I pretty much work for, Ellen. I was basically tagging along and learning the ropes. This time, though, it was just me, by myself, ish.

It was very different from the las time. At least I somewhat knew the site, but not many of the people. The first time I had visited, they were having “field day” with customers, so I barely got to know anyone. This time, Field Day was last week, so I got to meet more people. Fun fact, once I got to the site and introduce myself, that was the last time I spoke English. In this site, are mostly Hispanics. That obviously made me feel much, much better and right at home.

Then, it was evaluation time. Even though this is only my second time, I felt pretty confident. I had a side-kick, Maria, she was cutting the watermelons as we went, for evaluation. It wasn’t too hot, high 70 degrees and windy, nice morning.

We had about 75% of the work done by lunchtime. Which I rewarded me self with a delightful burger, plus, it was the closest thing that was not fast food.

The place, it’s called BurgerFi, or something like that. Never heard of it before. Pretty good, though.

Once the evaluation for watermelon 🍉 was done, it was time to check out the melons 🍈. Which, unfortunately, had issues. Apparently, a herbicide that was not supposed to be applied, got applied. It burned the plants and most of the fruit, making the evaluation much more difficult than it should have been.

I guess it is what it is. At least the evaluation got done. I had planned for 3 days, but technically did it all in one. However, they want me to go back again for a second look and to compared what I saw with the genetic data we have. To see if what I saw, sort of matches. It should be quicker and easier than today, though.

I might even get to get back home a day earlier, we shall see.

Gabz @Gabz