Tested

I have been having a sore throat for a few days now, along with some nasal congestion. I, blame my two girls for it, especially Marley. As per protocol, I let my manager know, I had to stay home and wait for the soreness to resolve before coming back on-site. Although Marley is all well and kicking now and cleared to go back to school, per her pediatrician, this morning I woke up with soreness. And once again, I reached out to my manager and the HSE person. I was advised to go see my physician since there has been a lot of cases of strep throat lately and see what the physician advised, then, go from there. 

I called my local Primary Health, they advised me to come by, and call from the parking lot. I drive to the place, get greeted by two army guys, they asked some screening questions, let me pass, and called the reception. I got more questions and they told me someone would be calling me to let me know it was okay to walk in.

So much protocol that it was weird, but I get it, so I am not annoyed.

they let me in, they did more questions, and got swabbed for strep. It was negative. Lady doctor advised it was probably a cold and that it continued, probably a sinus infection. 

And yet, she asked me if I wanted to get the COVID test since I was already there and to for sure rule that out. I said, 

sure! 

It didn't hurt, at least.

Now I am waiting to hear back.

This whole pandemic and all these new norms and protocols have placed, in some ways, the fear of God in me. I am so scared of getting a cold, to sneeze or coughing at work. If my kids get sick, I am supposed to report it and stay home until further instructions. Although I have the ability to work from home, there is an on-site project I was supposed to start yesterday, but until I am cleared to come back on-site, there's nothing it can be done. I doubt that I will hear back from my test today, which means I won't be starting this project until next week. 

What's worse, in a way, if I would have withheld the information that I got tested and just said, 

Doctor said is just a cold

and tomorrow I would wake up 'fine', I could go to work like usual, most likely. And even though I am sure I don't have COVID (like 99% sure)  I have both the sense of responsibility of protecting myself and others, hence why I agreed to get tested, but also the guilty of missing days on-site.

Gabz @Gabz