A flag.

The issue began with the controversy between Big City Coffee and BSU's Inclusive Excellence Student Council. The group members, according to its Facebook page, are "student activists at Boise State seeking the liberation of all historically and systemically marginalized peoples."
Fendly's shop prominently displayed the "thin blue line flag" as a sign of her support to police officers. Some, however, view that flag as a symbol of white supremacy.

Source: BSU asks courts to dismiss $10 million Big City Coffee lawsuit | KBOI

The "thin blue line flag". A blue line flag. A blue flag. 

flag as a symbol of white supremacy.

This is a thing that has been in my mind for over a year or so, ever since election year, which was last year. We have become extremely polarized and very vocal. I feel like symbols, words, actions, and flags have taken a very different meaning entirely for many. In some ways. As we have become more and more polarized and vocal, also, easily triggered and, sometimes, easily offended. Everything is a statement. We get angry and instead of having a good conversation, we turned towards rage and hate. I know this because it happens to me all the time. I get easily triggered and hence, angry.

I live in Idaho, this state is a red as it can get. I feel like only a small number of us are more liberal than the majority of the population here. I still see the trucks with the Trump's flags, the confederate flags, and other bumper stickers or signs of what can be considered just conservative propaganda, patriotism, or white supremacy propaganda, depending on who you ask.

It is been hard for me to distinguish them, in the past two years. Especially in this town. I see a big truck with the American flag and I don't know exactly why... Are you a patriot, a conservative, or a white supremacist?

If This Flag Offends You, I'll Help You Pack

I have seen these bumper stickers in so many vehicles around town. They usually are accompanied by some other unsavory propaganda and whatnot.

It is hard to get behind a flag when this flag has been turned into something it isn't or shouldn't be.

You are a Puerto Rican, what the fuck do you know?

Also true, perhaps...

What I do know is that both my dad and my grandpa, and many of my cousins and uncles, have fought for the same flag.  And something in my gut tells me that the flags I see in trucks are not the same flag they fought or are fighting for.

Or so I want to believe.

Gabz @Gabz