Kenshin

Rurouni Kensin

Probably one of my first Anime experiences ever as a kid. At the time, I knew it a Samurai X. Also remember Technoman, or Tekkaman Blade in Japan. But Samurai equis was the one we would talk at school and nerd over back in the 80s.

Now, fast-forward to 2012, the first live-action movie was released. But it wasn’t until now, that I came to finally watch all of them. Last night I watched the last one of the 5 movies. The films in the series were released as follows:

  1. Rurouni Kenshin Origins (2012)
  2. Rurouni Kenshin: Kyoto Inferno (2014)
  3. Rurouni Kenshin: The Legend Ends (2014)
  4. Rurouni Kenshin: The Final (2021)
  5. Rurouni Kenshin: The Beginning (2021)

The chronological viewing should be:

  1. Rurouni Kenshin: The Beginning (2021)
  2. Rurouni Kenshin Origins (2012)
  3. Rurouni Kenshin: Kyoto Inferno (2014)
  4. Rurouni Kenshin: The Legend Ends (2014)
  5. Rurouni Kenshin: The Final (2021)

Unfortunately, to watch them all, it is not as easy as hopping into Netflix and bing-watch them all. Only the two most recent ones, The Beginning, and The Final, are available for stream on Netflix. Origins, Kyoto, and Legends, you will either have to buy them separately or, as I did, stream them on the Funimation app. There aren’t available anywhere else as far as I am aware.

I found these movies to be outstanding and well done. I enjoyed each one of them. The characters never felt like they were cosplaying, or at least not to my eyes. Like any adaptation, it won’t be a 100% true to the anime show or perhaps even the manga, but it was pretty darn close, 98% close. I am fine with adaptations as long as they keep the essence, which I believe they did. The fights are fast and amazingly done. I also believe that the best to watch them, is back-to-back, like you would do with any good trilogy or series of movies.

You do get invested in the characters, and many of them I found fascinating and somewhat relatable. I’m sure others would have a different opinion, but personally, I cannot say that one movie might be the weakest of the series, they are all awesome to watch. But if I had to pick a favorite, I would pick The Beginning just for the story alone. The Final, as the name might suggest, it gives closure, in some way, to the events of The Beginning. The 3 movies in between are basically the anime’s Legend of Kyoto arc. I did enjoy those very much, as a fan. In fact, that is the only arc/season of the series that I actually own in a collector’s box-set.

You can see it as Origins, Kyoto Inferno, and The Legend Ends, are the main series and The Beginning and The Final, are OVAs.

To me, these movies are Masterpieces.

Even if you are not a big anime fan, but a fan of well written, action movies, give it a watch. You could probably even just watch the two ones available on Netflix and enjoy them for what they are and not feel too lost in the overall story.

Gabz @Gabz