Accidents happen

This has been a strange week, so far. Yesterday, I arrived to work about an hour late. Why? There had been an accident, a terrible one. The commute to work can be a scary one. This is an old ‘highway’, a two lane long road, in which the speed limit is 55 miles per hour (88.51 km/h). This means we are all doing no less than 60, most likely. On top of the speed limit and high traffic, there is almost no illumination whatsoever. And guess what? It is getting darker.

A cyclist tried to cross said road, at 6:45 am, when it is still very dark. Unfortunately, a driver did not see him crossing. Because of the accident, they block the road, and it just so happens that was the block in which my work-site is located. Trying to get one of the cops to let you through can be difficult. It took me three tries before the traffic police let me pass.

Today, another accident. Not as tragic as yesterday’s, but an accident that could have been avoided. Fortunately for me, I was able to go around this one and made it to work on time.

This is a very reoccurring thing on this road around this time of the year, when it starts getting darker. And people never slow down, and some others are too in a hurry that makes it even worse for many of us.

Before leaving work today, as a joke, I told my coworker.

If I encounter another accident on my way here tomorrow, I am just going to turn around and go home

😆

Gabz @Gabz