A game I’ve been playing

Metroid™ Dread for Nintendo Switch

I am going to be honest, I wasn’t going to buy this game, at least not at launch. I was going to wait, until I had finished other games in my backlog. I caved, though. I couldn’t resist the hype, my own hype.

I haven’t played a Metroid game in years. It was probably Metroid Prime, the last one I remember playing. I recently started playing Super Metroid, but didn’t stick with it. I was still very into ENDER LILIES: Quietus of the Knights, which, well, that’s another post.

So, I purchased Metroid Dread Friday night but, it wasn’t until Saturday, while the girls were watching cartoons, that play a bit. A _bit_turned into two hours. Even though I am not a well seasoned Metroid player, and certainly, I may have more difficulty compared to a diehard Metroid fan, I’m still having a lot of fun. It lived up to myhype. It is a great classic Metroid 2D game with amazing modern graphics.

The game does a good job giving you a backstory of the events larding up to this game. This game is a sequel to Metroid Fusion, if I understand correctly. I never played Fusion but, again, you get a good recap and I don’t feel lost. Plus, I have recently got into the YouTube rabbit hole of everything related to Metroid.

You also get a bit of a tutorial to get you going, but the games throws you into the action right away! As you would expect from a Metroid game, there’s lots of exploration, trial and error, and hidden places. The graphics are wonderful, the cutscenes are nicely done, definitely an AAA game from Nintendo.

Now, my new cause of anxiety are called E.M.M.I’s, also known as Extraplanetary Multiform Mobile Identifier.

These things will be your main nightmare, or at least for me, they are. These things are relentless and hard to kill, if not impossible. You’ll have to play the game to find out. And it is not like they are all over the map, but in specific areas. Scary areas.

Needless to say, I am having a fun figuring out, exploring, and playing this game. Let us see how long will it take me to beat it? I am currently playing it on my Nintendo Switch lite, no issues there.

So far, I haven’t had to resource to the internets for guidance, and will try to keep it that way for as long as I can. That being said, I don’t discard the possibility of. Right now, I am kind of stuck in an area (surprise, surprise), but we shall see.

Gabz @Gabz