Growing up

I have been an iPhone user since the iPhone 4. Ever since I have been engulfed in the Apple ecosystem and its tech-fan-culture. I have upgraded to the latest iPhone every single year ever since. Like I always felt compelled to do so, like it was my duty as a nerd.

In the last few years, the urge to upgrade every year has gone down a bit. Thinking back, it was always about FOMO, and not because the upgrade to the device itself, bright any substantial benefits. It was about me having the same toys the podcasters I was listening to had, for example. The same toy my friends in my nerdy-chat had.

By not having their latest and greatest, I wasn’t honoring my nerd badge.

On September 13th, 2019, Rene Ritchie tweeted (or at least that’s the day its on my DayOne entry)

Never let anyone, certainly not the internet, shame you about your technology choices. If you get something cheaper to save money, or you get the most expensive, you’re still every bit as nerdy and savvy. No one else knows your business or gets to judge your choices. Do you.

I still remember these words on every Apple event ever since.

Yesterday, for me, was another Tuesday. Yes, I was aware of the event, but I did not watch it or made any efforts to. Of course, I peaked at the internet. And for the first time I can say with confidence — I’m good.

I currently have an iPhone 12 mini, and this is probably my favorite iPhone since the iPhone 4s, followed by the iPhone XS. And I am good, if I see myself “upgrading” it would be to the iPhone 13 mini and I don’t feel like I need to do that now. At least not in the foreseeable future.

I did like the new Apple Watch and the iPad Mini but, I am good for a while.

Well, would you look at that? I am fucking growing up you all.

Gabz @Gabz