Drop off

Since Marley started kindergarten, I had only dropped her off at school the very first day. Mom was there, little sister (Luna), and even grandpa. I remember having all sorts of mixed emotions, I might even shed a tear or two. Thereafter, it was grandpa dropping her off and me picking her up at the end of the day. Picking her up is way easier by far.

Today, grandpa was not available, so it was up to me to drop her off, alone this time. I wondered how it’d go, and it was, okay.

What I enjoyed the most was getting things ready at home. Prepping her lunch bag, getting specific instructions on what would go where in the lunchbox. The excitement, of Marley, on leaving for school.

Marley: Papa we need to leave now, grandpa always leave early

Me: grandpa lives about 20 minutes from the school, we live 5 minutes from it (even less)

She was an eager little beaver.

We drove by the school, I parked, she got her backpack, she asked to cross her, and once she was close to the classroom…

She’s gone, like I didn’t exist 😅

This afternoon, I get to pick her up, I am working from home, so I will just walk to the school — with her scooter 🛴

Gabz @Gabz