Glass vs anything else.

I have recently shared all the things I like about Glass and I am still very much enjoying the service. Now, where other services, apps, platforms that I am currently using may or may not compare to Glass? 

Instagram

We all know that Instagram is no longer about photos. To me it is about content creators, yes you get to display your photos too but that's not the main target anymore, I feel like. And then there's the dumb (or numb) scrolling, scrolling, and scrolling, double-tap, scrolling some more, double-tap some more. There are all the ads, all the suggestions, kinda like, Twitter (the official app, that is). Ever since I had discovered and started using Glass, Instagram has already lost most of its value, if it ever had any, to me.  It's just a place a go now to look at funny Reels and may see my friends post, stuff.

Flickr

I have tried for years to get into Flickr. I may have had a few accounts around the years. The one I currently have was my final attempt to get into it once more. I am even paying for the Pro and still, I forget it's there, I forget it exists. I never ever open it to scroll and watch what the people I may follow are posting. Guess Flickr never really clicked for me.

Micro.blog

Micro.blog, before its social aspect, is first and foremost my personal blog's hosting service. Where I share my thoughts, the things I like and enjoy, and my photos. There's even a menu tab exclusively for my photos. I would say a good portion of my photos are exclusively on my blog, maybe a few on Instagram, and mostly about the girls so my family can see them.  Flickr, well, I will upload a few when I remember.

Twitter

eh!

Mastodon

Crossed posted from Micro.blog

Glass

What more can I say about it? I am really enjoying it. I like that unlike Flickr, it did click for me. I actively open it and look at the photos in my timeline, no numb scrolling, no double-tap, I comment, I interact, and likewise, other people interact with me. I am not sure if this is the effect of the platform/app/service being young still, but in the week or so I have had it, I have gotten so more good comments and feedback on some of my photos, that I never got on Instagram in all these years.  I like that the app, in some way, encourages interaction.

If you are in the Glasses there, you can find me at, Gabz

Gabz @Gabz