On black and white photography

Yesterday, I posted some thoughts about my photography skills or lack thereof. Specially around the true way of black and white photography. Although there’s probably no such thing, right.

I guess what I was trying to get at was, how can I go about taking black and white pictures without resorting to filters of any kind with my current camera? Today, I went down a rabbit whole, “there has to be a way I can do this with my camera”.

And there it was, I had forgotten there is an option in my camera under “Picture Mode”, for Monochrome. Like I said on my previous post, a camera like the Olympus PEN-F, has a manual switch for this instead of going into the settings. What I did is that I basically mapped it to one of the dials settings, so I can switch back and forth.

Having rediscovered this, I took my camera, put on the 45mm lens, simply for no reason, I don’t know. I am working from home today, so I started going around the house taking random pictures, just like the day I got my camera for the first time.

Now, in the excitement, I don’t know how, but I’ve lost my lens cap 😅

I’ve to go find it.

Here are some random pictures I took, using the Olympus OM-D E-M10 Mark III with the m.zuiko 45mm f 1.8 — unedited.

Gabz @Gabz