A game I liked, vol 6

DYNASTY WARRIORS 8: Xtreme Legends Definitive Edition

In the past few days, I have been playing DYNASTY WARRIORS 8: Xtreme Legends Definitive Edition on the Nintendo Switch lite. And man, am I having a great time with it. My first DW game was Dynasty Warriors 3. I remember I was in college, young and very stupid. I walked by an EB Games, and saw they had on their PlayStation 2 demo unit Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty. So, obviously, I had to buy a PS2 with MGS. Then I remember my buddy looking in the used games section and found Dynasty Warriors 3. Oh boy, after that, not only we played that game almost every single night. I have been playing every single DW game ever since.

For whatever reason, I don’t remember playing 8 but then again, almost every DW, it’s just a reiteration of the same game, same formula, over and over. So, in a way, if you have played one, you have played them all.

Before 8, my most recent like-game from the same “franchise” I played on the Switch, was WARRIORS OROCHI 4. This one is more like a crossover of, Dynasty Warriors and Samurai Warriors with other godly characters.

Playing 8, was like going back in time to those first DW games, where the story was the same, maybe adding a few characters here and there. But it was the same old school DW game I felt in love with back in 2001-2002. Even some in-battle dialog are the same.

Love the nostalgia, and I am having a blast revisiting this franchise in all its glory.

Gabz @Gabz