Internet peer pressure

There is something I feel like I need to get off my chest. It is this regarding the whole Hey/Basecamp ordeal. I have been having such a hard time thinking about this one, and have many thoughts. I am even afraid of publishing these thoughts because of the cords it might strike for some.

Back in March, I made de decision of signing up for Hey’s email service. I did not do it because I wanted to support or believed in the company, in fact, I knew very little about this them other than the made some project managing tool system. I did not do it because their email was revolutionary. I did it because I was tired and bored with what is already in-place, and I liked what I saw, tried it, loved it — the end.

Then, yesterday the internet goes on fire, as a company they made some policy changes, which enraged everyone apparently, and could see why some people would have a strong reaction to it. I cannot say I understand why they did it, what prompted its decision, I do not know the whole story. I don’t know what happens behind closed doors. Not my circus, not my monkeys, as they say. All there is, are their public posts, and people’s reactions. Everything I read are people somewhat disappointed, angry and whatnot. Cancelling their subscriptions in some kind of boycott. I guess that’s cool, I mean we all have our right to voice our opinions about things and what better way to speak up against a company than with your wallet (or Apple Pay, etc). Me personally, my struggle, is not with what the company decided to do about their internal policies.

This morning I made a post,

Sometimes the mass gets angry about a thing. And perhaps me personally, don’t have a strong opinion about the thing. But then I have the pressure of, if I am not angry at the thing that everyone else is angry about, then I am by default, irrevocably, against the mass and therefore — wrong.

What I meant by that, I think, every time something like this happens and everyone starts hating at a thing, for whatever reason, pick one, if my opinion (if any at all) doesn’t align with the mob, then I am against that mob. This is a thing that has been in my mind for a long time. Not just about Hey/Basecamp, it’s about many other things. What if I just don’t have that strong of an opinion? Does that make me wrong? The situation makes me feel like if I keep using the service, that therefore I am supporting the company which in turn I am agreeing with their policies. If that is the absolute truth, I missed that part in the service agreement when I signed up for it. As far as I was concerned, all I have done is signing up for a service I like using.

There are ten-thousand arguments of why I should cancel my service and give them the middle finger. The internet/Twitter can (and will) list them all for me, I’m certain. Tell me why I should quit using X or Y service or company! You can tell me all the reasons why the company sucks, and I shall not buy or use anything that has anything to do with them.

And this is my struggle. Do I keep using a service, or giving my monies to a company because I, personally, like using their thing or quit using it because everybody else, are in disagreement something they, as a company, did and can do?

All that being, said, I might just be overthinking the internet’s overreaction and just needed to vent.

IN OTHER NEWS:

Started playing NieR Replicant ver.1.22474487139… and I am loving it.

Gabz @Gabz