64.1 million

Vaccine administration in the US achieved a new daily record last week with over 4 million shots in one day. In addition, the US has fully vaccinated more than 61.4 million individuals (18.5% of the total US population) and 32.4% of the population has received at least one dose of the vaccine.

61.4 million, to me, sounds like a big number but that represents only 18.5% of the total US population, eighteen point five percent of the total!! I guess I have failed to grasp the magnitude of the US’s population if that makes any sense. It is a number I think very little about. Perhaps because I used to live on a little island for more than half of my entire life. The current population of Puerto Rico is 2.8 million, according to the latest United Nations data. So, yeah 61.4 million does seem like a lot but it really isn’t in the grand scheme of things.

Still though, over 4 million shots in one day, that’s two Puerto Rico’s 🙃 and then some.

Gabz @Gabz