The Zelda hype

You know The Legend of Zelda, even if you have never played a single Zelda game, it is somehow embedded in our nerdy-pop-culture. Just like Batman, even if you don’t like superheroes, at least the name should ring a bell.

I like Zelda, it has a big place in our pop culture and gaming community, I am familiar with its lore and aware of every game out there. Believe me, I even have a triforce tattooed on my arm.

That being said, I think I have only played a small handful of Zelda games in my entire gaming life. I very much remember The Legend of Zelda: Four Swords Adventures on the GameCube, I think I’ve played Ocarina of time, The Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask 3D and Breath of the wild. Oh, and the one with the train 🚂 and The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker. So, not that many of them, and to be honest, I have probably finished all the way through, 2 of these.

But anytime Nintendo announces a Nintendo Direct, people go bonkers for Zelda stuff. They want all the Zeldas, all the remasters and all the new as well. That’s cool, I guess, but I guess the hype sometimes makes go meh!

Don’t get me wrong even if I go “meh!”, I get excited for new Zelda stuff. The last two Zelda games released on the Switch are in my wishlist, hoping that I will play them some day. And yet, they’re sitting there, and I’m not entirely sure why. Maybe I’m burned out off Zelda games?

Now I am sounding like a grumpy old gamer 😅

The one I am really eager to play though is Hyrule Warriors: Age of Calamity, simply because I am a sucker for the Dynasty Warriors type of games. 😁

Gabz @Gabz