an orwellian experience

Yesterday I had an appointment at my local Apple Store. I don’t k is if I had mentioned this on the blog but I may have dropped my iPhone 11 to the ground (again) and this time it cracked the front screen. I had my appointment and got to the store and something very bizarre, very Orwellian.

Orwellian" is an adjective describing a situation, idea, or societal condition that George Orwell identified as being destructive to the welfare of a free and open society

Wikipedia

(By the way, thank you to Martin Feld for “introduce” me to this term, I had never heard it before and had to 🦆-🦆-go-it)

It wasn’t an opened store anymore like we are used to.

It looked more like a fort. You can’t walk into the store anymore. Instead, you’re greeted with this wall and windows.

(These aren’t my local stores’s but same)

Macrumors

Apple is trying out a new retail store experience that puts express pickup of online orders and Genius Bar appointments front and center, while keeping customer and staff safety paramount during the ongoing global health crisis.

Again, it was very bizarre but I understand why. Especially here in Idaho where COVID cases are skyrocketing.

That being said, it was the same welcoming experience as far as the service went. However, they did not have the part for my phone, thus, it had to be ordered and I have to stop at the store again at a later date.

Gabz @Gabz