A Game I liked, Vol 2

Ghost of Tsushima

I can’t believe it took me this long to get this game, and yet, here we are. I remember when I first saw images and game footage of this game and thinking “this game is beautiful and its going to be huge”. The game comes out and it’s an instant people’s favorite but I was still hesitant.

I am a sucker for samurai lore, I think. We all are to an extent. Anything feudal Japan, Samurais , Ninjas ,all of it. As I have expressed many times before, I am a huge of the Assassins Creed series, especially the last two games and Ive always though. Why they don’t make and AC game based on feudal japan? Yes there are other games out there with the same Samurai thematic like NIOH, which in all honesty, it was the game that made me buy a PlayStation 4, along with the announcement of the Final Fantasy VII Remake of course. Another game with the same thematic was Sekiro Shadows die Twice, which I got for the Xbox One. Both of these game, I had stopped playing very quickly, they are, at least to me, too difficult, way too challenging and that took all the fun out of them. Just like the Ninja Gaiden games, I hated the were so difficult. Because of these games, I was hesitant to get Ghost. I was afraid that’s I was going to spend 60 USDs on another unforgiving game and I was going to be sad and frustrated.

Well, turns out, the game it’s actually way more forgiving than the previous games I’ve mentioned. This game plays just like an Assassins Creed game. The combat is fluid, and is not like you need to be on a constant defense position and do perfect parries in order to block your enemies’s defense for a one blow kill. Yes, you could I presume but you don’t have to in order to succeed. Just like the most recent AC games, it is an open world with what it looks like a massive map. There are your main missions, side quests ,random encounters, shrines, camps where you can get upgrades, all of that fun stuff. When I was talking to my friend Justin about this game, my first thought was “Assassins creed and Horizon Zero Dawn had a baby but ditched the mechanical dinosaurs”. I never feel like I am doing chores, if anything I am having the time of my life with this game. After installing it, I played for two and a half hours, non-stop, that’s saying something given my attention span these days.

This game is definitely one of the best games in this generation of consoles and it’s worth every penny.

Gabz @Gabz