How are you?

How are you? A very common question with – under ideal circumstances – a simple answer. And yet. Why is that I have a hard time answering it sometimes? How are you doing? The usual response would be, “I am doing well” or “I’m good”.

Very often when I am asked this question, I go down this rabbit hole of questions in my head. Should I just say, “I am doing well, thanks for asking”, you know the normal BS? Shall I say “I am okay”? It’s like this simple question makes me double guess everything in my life up until the moment I am asked. Like what doing well or good really entails? Is it been alive and kickin'? Or is it having a job, especially in the pandemic? Is it not having the COVIDs? Having all your bills paid up, having three beers in the fridge, or having a Gigantamax Charizard in your Pokédex? So many unnecessary questions about what should be a simple answer.

Now this is me opening up a little bit. Many times, when I get asked my head goes to a place of insecurities and darkness. Years ago, when I was working at a company that shall remain nameless, I often was comparing my life to others. Thus, oftentimes I found myself frustrated, very unhappy and maybe even depressed because I wasn’t meeting “the standards”. Standards that I definitely got in my own head, I think.

Again, nowadays, I don’t think about those things anymore or at least not as much as I used to but it lingers. I guess this is why, to me, answering this question is hard at times. Am I doing good because I may or may not be good financially? Am I doing good because of my job title? The car I have, the size of the house I have, etc, etc.

Or just well because I have blessings?

So, let me count my blessings.

  1. I have a wife that loves me (more like she puts up with me lol)
  2. I have two beautiful and healthy daughters.
  3. I have a job that pays for my Micro.blog hosting.
  4. I have three beers and a camera (Ha! Three beers and a Camera, sounds like a good podcast 🍺 📷 🎙 ).
  5. I don’t have a Gigantmax Charizard yet but I will have it soon 😜
  6. And beta 5 just came out!

I am sure I have more blessings but those are the top 6 at the moment. I think I am doing well enough.

That being said, if you’re reading this, I hope you’re doing good. Or as my friend Justin would say, fabulous 😘

Gabz @Gabz