Something I liked this week Volume 26.

Remember side scrolling beat-‘em-up games? Like Streets of Rage 2 (probably the one I remember the most from this franchise) Double Dragon (I played this on the SEGA MASTER SYSTEM II, spent hours playing coop with my best friend) or one of my old time favorites Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Turtles in Time (Arcade, SNES) or the Ninja Warriors? Oh and I cannot forget to mention SNES’s Batman Returns, this game was a lot of fun!

These type of games were my favorite genre growing-up, to me it was the Arcade era with some of them (Remember Arcades?). The games you would play with one of your friends side-by-side or just spend hours – and a lots of coins – playing by yourself.

Some of these I still play to this day, for example Ninja Warriors, this game got remade a few times and then finally brought to the Nintendo Switch last year, I think, as The Ninja Saviors: Return of the Warriors. Thugh you can still get the original on the eShop, I much rather play this version.

This week though, finally, we got Streets of Rage 4 and oh boy I was excited to get my hands on this one. I purchased the game on the Nintendo Switch, my gaming console of choice these days and I am loving it. Is not a remake, it is a sequel, which I very much appreciate. It has all the cool elements that bring back all those memories from the previous iterations. The art is fantastic, it reminds me a little bit what they did with Street Fighter V with the cool art. The music is amazing on this game! If there’s something that makes these games awesome, is the music. As a matter of fact, I have been listening to the game’s soundtrack when I’m not playing it πŸ˜….

Streets of Rage 4 (Original Game Soundtrack) by Olivier Deriviere

Although the game has its own modern but awesome soundtrack, you can also switch to the classic retro style music while playing the game, super cool.

There’s not a whole lot to say about the gameplay itself, I mean it’s you walking around beating the crap about of thugs. Each character have their own special move which it reduces your life bar a little bit but if you punch a couple of bad guys right after you get what you lost back. If you don’t hit anybody or they hit you after performing the special attack then you’ll loose it. I think this is why I keep dying a lot, because I use those moves a lot πŸ˜…. They’re pretty cool though, it’s a shame no to use them.

The game isn’t too difficult, granted I am playing it on easy 😝. I have been playing pretty much non-stop since I downloaded it and just finished it a few hours ago. And yet, I immediately started the game again, with a different character this time around. You can actually switch characters in the middle of your current game but I want to play the whole story one character at a time.

Again, I am having lots of fun with this game, worth every penny!

Gabz @Gabz