Is it Yoga, What I need?

As I have written many times before, staying fit and healthy is a goal of mine. Not for 2020, it has been since last year and I have been pretty consistent with it – as consistent as I can be. SO it has been about a year, I think since I signed up for my gym and have been working out and all that jazz. Ever since this pandemic situation, going to the gym is not an option and who knows when I’ll be able to be back at it. During these stay-at-home/ working from home weeks, I have been doing the best I can to keep up with the workout routine. Whether I do a video from youtube or find some workout online, both inside out outside of the house. Outside of the house, it’s more fun, I am glad that I have a decent yard that I can swing my kettlebell at, do my special burpees (it’s a regular burpee but jumping forward instead of upwards) and even using the girls' swings set. But in these conditions, it’s also hard to stay motivated and not fall into a boring rutine. So much so that there are days that I don’t care about doing anything, and this is not acceptable. On top of that, I have been so “focused” om lifting that I forget to listen to my body and I am a little hurt. My lower back has been killing me for the past two months or so.

A while ago someone recommended to me this YouTube channel by Heather Robertson. In her channel, she has a lot of HIT workouts that require no equipment and they are pretty good but then again I feel like I needed a rest from these High-intensity workouts. One time, browsing her channel I found this video. This video I put it in my “Watch-later” folder, it’s a stretching recovery, yoga-inspired workout. This one of the things I, now, suck at – recovery and stretching. And I don’t know what happened, I used to be really good at listening to my body, stretching, taking breaks and taking care of my body. But in the recent year or so, not so much.

Anyhow, today I took a break and did this video and these are my findings.

  1. OMG, I needed this! almost every movement hurt, in a good way, like things were loosing up.

  2. I am very stiff, I am not as flexible as I used to be. I am very tight and didn’t truly realize it until today.

  3. I need to do more of this. I need a break from the high-intensity workouts and kettlebells and, well, I should do Yoga!

  4. My lower back feels much better and I am mentally more relaxed. It felt like a good therapy session.

Now I am going down the rabbit hole looking for a good program or channel but most importantly, that is free (if possible 😅)

Gabz @Gabz