Going Googleless?

As part of my never ending ways to “improve” my digital life. One of the things I have been thinking about lately is to stop using Google services, specially for email. It has been in the back of my mind for awhile until this morning. I have listened to the latest episode of Micro Monday in which they sort of touched on this topic a little bit and that got me thinking about this again. So I started thinking about my options.

  • Option one: I can continue using my iCloud email exclusively.

  • Option two: A Fastmail account.

  • Option three: Don’t do a thing.

Option one is probably the easiest one as far as, it’s already on going and it’s free. Option two is maybe the most effective but it comes at a cost. Option three would be the laziest way, I think.

And also the more I think about it, option three sounds better in some ways. There are so many things in my life that are attached to gmail. I feel like if I were to get rid of my gmail account(s) it would be a huge pain in the buttness. I’m afraid of braking things up, that I will forget about important things or something. The whole idea sound like a nightmare in some ways.

I don’t know, I need to think about this in length. But the idea of detached myself from google it’s very appealing.

Gabz @Gabz