Two beers and a Marley ?

Back when I was playing with the idea of starting a blog of my own, I struggled for a to find a “good” name for it for a while. Until, one day, I remember I was having a group-text conversation with some friends. This was a few months after our first daughter Marley was born, so a little over two years ago now. I don’t recall the exact conversation but I do remember that whatever the joke or the subject was, I didn’t get it until probably ten minutes into the conversation, I was a little lost there for a while. It was definitely one of those “oh! right!” moments. And as expected from these individuals I got a lot of crap for it. To which I said “in my defense I have had two beers and I have a Marley”. And from that little “joke” it’s how the idea of Two beers and a Marley came about.

So I created my blog and named it, Two beers and a Marley. I was probably the only one that really got the joke, some people just thought it was a cute idea or something like that. But I have rolled with my own joke for all this time, about two years or so to be exact. Here’s the thing now, we recently had our second baby, a new addition to the family. And somehow I feel like Two beers and a Marley doesn’t quite work anymore. Now I am rethinking the whole concept. I probably could still get away with the original name but for whatever reason doesn’t feel right. I have a couple of ideas that I am evaluating but nothing for sure yet. For now my Micro.blog it simply called Gabriel until I can either come up with a new name or decide to just keep using the original one.

One thing I do know for sure, it’s that I am definitely sticking with Micro.blog for my blog hosting and getting rid completely of my Wordpress account. I have sort of been maintaining both “sites” opened but I think I won’t be renewing by WP membership at the beginning of 2019.

Other things to consider in 2019:

  • get rid of Facebook ?
  • get rid of Instagram ?
Gabz @Gabz